An Evening with Paul Goldberger

Paul Goldberger is one of the nation’s leading writers in the field of architecture, design, and urbanism. His work as the architecture critic at The New Yorker—he continues the magazine’s celebrated “Sky Line” column in the tradition of Lewis Mumford and Brendan Gill—has earned him the Pulitzer Prize. Goldberger’s latest book, Up From Zero, an account of the design selection process for rebuilding the World Trade Center site, explains how conflicting pressures have shaped decisions about the project. Other writings include the text for The World Trade Center Remembered, and Manhattan Unfurled. Goldberger was recently appointed the dean of Parsons School of Design, which he regards as a new opportunity to connect design to the world, keeping it fresh, and giving it meaning for our time.

Back